Gourdon Harbour

Toggle location map

Gourdon Harbour was built in 1820.  The earlier harbour was cramped holding only eight boats.

The harbour has a sheltered inner basin protected by storm gates. Halfway up the hill there is a small lighthouse. There is still a small fleet of trawlers operating from the port. The east breakwater was built in 1958 and the west breakwater built in 1970.

Extending to 7200 square metres and now offering 330 metres of quay space, Gourdon is a double harbour where the main section is totally given over to fishing and the original, or Gutty Harbour, is used by pleasure craft. Over 20 boats have regular moorings there and harbour services are extensive, including diesel fuel, water and electricity and a marine engineering firm.

Gourdon is a South facing harbour with protective storm gates, the entrance to the Gutty Harbour is rocky and can be difficult to navigate but the main harbour entrance is more accessible.

Visitors can buy fish from the filleting sheds by the Harbour. There are attractive coastal walks in both directions from the town.

  • Facilities
    • Parking
    • Public Transport

You Might Also Like

x

Go to itinerary