SCO - Mendelssohn Piano Concerto No.1

Toggle location map

Music Hall
Union Street
AB10 1QS

BRAHMS Tragic Overture MENDELSSOHN Piano Concerto No. 1 SCHUMANN Symphony No.4

Maxim Emelyanychev conductor Benjamin Grosvenor piano

Championed by Franz Liszt, and inspired by unrequited love, Mendelssohn’s sparkling First Piano Concerto is something of an overlooked masterpiece – but the electrifying British pianist Benjamin Grosvenor is just the musician to reveal its fiery virtuosity as well as its delicate, Chopin-like beauty.

Maxim Emelyanychev contrasts Mendelssohn’s brilliance with the turbulent drama and high emotions of Brahms’ gripping Tragic Overture, as well as Schumann’s most original Symphony. Celebrating his longed-for marriage to his beloved Clara Wieck, No.4 plunges you into deep drama and stormy emotions before its joyful, exhilarating conclusion.

Kindly supported by The Usher Family.

  • Dates & Booking

    Nov. 25, 2023 7:30pm

    Book now
  • Ticket Info

    Standard - From £14.00 - £32.00

    Concession - From £6.00 - £16.00

You Might Also Like