BBC SSO: Stravinsky's Firebird

Toggle location map

Music Hall
Union Street
AB10 1QS

Zakir Hussain Triple Concerto for Tabla, Sitar and Bansuri (c.28 mins) Interval Rachmaninov Isle of the Dead (c.20 mins) Stravinsky The Firebird (1919 Suite) (c.23 mins)

Zakir Hussain tabla Niladri Kumar sitar Rakesh Chaurasia bansuri Alpesh Chauhan conductor

Imagine this. An intoxicating combination of eastern and western traditions creates musical magic, conjured by Indian musical royalty.

When different musical cultures meet, a new kind of harmony is born. “Mesmerising” was how one critic described the new Triple Concerto by Zakir Hussain when Alpesh Chauhan conducted its first British performances in 2023, and today the composer himself is among the soloists in a piece which, he says, tells a tale of love, tradition and the transforming power of art. It’s perfect for Chauhan, a conductor with a real flair for finding the heart and soul of a piece of music, and he follows it with two dark fairytales from Romantic Russia – Rachmaninov’s surprisingly passionate journey into night, and Stravinsky’s exhilarating Firebird. Those glowing melodies, those dazzling cascades of colour… they’ll burn even more brightly tonight.

  • Dates & Booking

    Mar. 14, 2025 7:30pm

  • Ticket Info

    Standard - From £15.00 - £27.00

    Concession - From £6.00 - £13.50

You Might Also Like