BBC SSO - Elgar Cello Concerto

Toggle location map

Music Hall
Union Street
AB10 1QS

LISA ILLEAN New Work (BBC Commission, World Premiere) (c.20 mins) ELGAR Cello Concerto (c.32 mins) BRAHMS Symphony No.3 (c.39 mins)

Dai Miyata cello Ryan Wigglesworth conductor

“Free but happy” is the motto that Brahms gave to his Third Symphony, and it opens with all the freshness of a summer storm. What comes next is a musical landscape of rolling clouds, tender lullabies, and radiant sunsets: a haunting finish to a concert that’s all about light, shade, and deep feelings. If you thought Elgar’s popular Cello Concerto was merely the sound of green fields and rolling hills, think again, as cellist Dai Miyata – praised by critics for his “sublime beauty of tone” – joins Ryan Wigglesworth to uncover its troubled soul. And explore a new world of sound from the imagination of Lisa Illean, who creates music (it’s been said) from “exquisitely quiet shadows”

Book all five BBC SSO 23/24 season concerts and get 20% off

Offer open until Sunday 29 September 2023 only. Offer only applies to full price tickets

  • Dates & Booking

    Feb. 02, 2024 7:30pm

    Book now
  • Ticket Info

    Standard - From £15.00 - £27.00

    Concession - From £6.00 - £13.50

You Might Also Like