Toggle location map

Aberdeen Maritime Museum, Shiprow, Aberdeen, AB11 5BY

This event has now passed. Visit our what's on calendar to view our current events.

Talks take place at Aberdeen Maritime Museum on Wednesdays, 12.30pm - 1pm unless otherwise stated.


Wednesday 6 September

A personal maritime memoir

George Wood, Volunteer


Wednesday 13 September (1 hr)

Hungry Histories: The unique food culture of the North East

Craig Wilson, Eat on the Green's kilted chef


Wednesday 20 September

Catterline artists

Alison Fraser, Lead Curator (Art)


Wednesday 27 September (1 hr)

Hungry Histories: The edible archive

Phil Astley, City Archivist


Friday 29 September (1 hr)

Explorathon 2017: Coasts and communities

Dr Travis Potts, Department of Human Geography, University of Aberdeen. 

To book go to


Wednesday 11 October

Forty years of acquisitions

Christine Rew, Aberdeen Art Gallery and Museums Manager


Wednesday 18 October (1 hr)

Hungry Histories: From Stone Age to obese age

Dr Alex Johnstone, Rowett Institute, University of Aberdeen


Wednesday 25 October

Sea Change: Going with the flow

Jason Finch, Curator (History)


Wednesday 1 November (1 hr)

Hungry Histories: Privies and other filthiness

Dr Chris Croly, University of Aberdeen


Wednesday 8 November

Sea Change: Flying to disaster

Jason Finch, Curator (History)


Wednesday 15 November (1 hr) 

Sea Change: North sea herring

Dr Frederik Pederson, School of Divinity, History and Philosphy, University of Aberdeen


Wednesday 22 November

Aberdeen Art Gallery Remembrance Hall commission: A maker's tale

Gordon Burnett, Designer


Wednesday 29 November

Sea Change: Kayaking the Highlands

Donald Thomson, Adventurer


Wednesday 6 December (This talk is at the Central Library)

Carte de Visite photography

Jenny Pape, Curator (History)


Wednesday 13 December

Christmas through artists' eyes

Liz Louis, Curator (Fine Art) 

  • When
  • Ticket Info
    Booking is required on 01224 337714.
  • Cost
    Admission is free but advance booking is required on 01224 337714.

Go to itinerary