Toggle location map

Music Hall
Union Street
AB10 1QS

This event has now passed. Visit our what's on calendar to view our current events.

HANDEL, PURCELL - Composers RICHARD EGARR - Conductor CAROLYN SAMPSON - SOPRANO - Soloist PURCELL Music from The Fairy Queen (40’) HANDEL Concerto Grosso Op 3 No 1 in B-flat (10’) HANDEL Arias from Semele:adore (15’) HANDEL Music for the Royal Fireworks (20’) Described as a conductor “full of fizzy finesse”, Richard Egarr presents a celebration of Handel and Purcell. There’s a riot of colour in Handel’s Music for the Royal Fireworksand in his Concerto Grosso Op 3 No 1, and exquisitely beautiful arias from his humorous musical drama Semele, delivered by the dazzling soprano Carolyn Sampson. Purcell’s glimmering suite from the opera The Fairy Queen draws inspiration from Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream, a bewitching tale celebrating the wonder and joy of love in all its forms. Purcell conjures up an enchanted world where the magical forces of nature reign supreme. ...CAROLYN SAMPSON’S PURE SOPRANO COSSETS THE WORDS, SAVOURING THEIR EXPRESSIVE IMPLICATIONS, RELISHING THEIR SHIFTS OF RHYTHM AND SUBTLY SIGHING WITH BLISS, YEARNING OR HEARTACHE...” The Telegraph Sampson’s soprano voice has super-refined control of phrasing and dynamics Connect Insights: 6.45pm Pre-concert performance by students from Aberdeen City Music School

You Might Also Like


Go to itinerary