RSNO- Benedetti plays Simpson

Toggle location map

Music Hall
Union Street
AB10 1QS

This event has now passed. Visit our what's on calendar to view our current events.

MARK SIMPSON Violin Concerto Scottish Premiere, RSNO Co-commission SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No5

David Afkham conductor Nicola Benedetti violin

Trumpets ring out, crowds cheer and soldiers march. It’s all there in Shostakovich’s electrifying Fifth Symphony – a work on which the composer’s very life depended. A resounding success from its first performance, it continues to thrill audiences today. All this and Nicola Benedetti too. Tonight, the nation’s favourite violinist has something brand new to share: a luscious, flamboyant concerto written specially for her by Liverpudlian composer Mark Simpson.

Sir Alexander & Lady Veronica Gibson Memorial Concert.