Marin Alsop Conducts Dvořák

Toggle location map

Music Hall
Union Street
AB10 1QS

This event has now passed. Visit our what's on calendar to view our current events.

On general sale - 10am, Thursday 2nd December 2021


JAMES MACMILLAN : The Confession of Isobel Gowdie (c.26 mins)

ROUSE : Flute Concerto (c.28 mins)

DVOŘÁK : Symphony No.7 (c.40 mins)

Adam Walker : flute

Marin Alsop : conductor 

Following her acclaimed appearances with the BBC SSO at the 2021 Edinburgh International Festival, Marin Alsop returns with a programme steeped in folk traditions. Sir James MacMillan’s depiction of persecution and redemption in 17th century Scotland has become a modern classic since the BBC SSO gave the premiere in 1990. Christopher Rouse’s elegiac Flute Concerto, meanwhile, is also influenced by traditional Celtic music and was hailed as ‘a masterpiece’ by The Herald.  Adam Walker is the soloist. And when 19th-century Czech listeners first experienced Dvořák’s Seventh they recognised the music of their homeland and heard it as a drama of national reawakening – but you don’t need Bohemian blood to be swept along by its passion and glorious melodies.

Subscription packages available to book from 25th November 2021:

You can save up to 35% (40% Seniors) when purchasing a subscription package for the BBC SSO’s Spring 2022 season (between 4 and 13 concerts).

Click here to book your subscription package.


£6 tickets are available for Students, Under 26s and Unemployed. Proof of status is required

Single concert ticket booking opens from Thursday 2nd December.

Venue notice

Please be aware that scaffolding is in place around the exterior of the building due to essential maintenance. However, the main entrance to City Halls remains accessible for customers. 

You Might Also Like