Forgotten Ferryhill: The Georgian Suburb
A walk around Aberdeen's first Georgian suburb of Ferryhill, named after the old ferry between Craiglug and Wellington Road. Explore Devanha House, the lost Dee Village, the areas architectural origins, and hear about the tall tales of the area. The walk lasts around two hours.
Perennial favourite walk, set in Aberdeens first Georgian suburb of Ferryhill, so named because of the ferry between Craiglug and Wellington Road which operated before the suspension bridge was built in 1830.Including the dodgy dealings which whisked Arthurseat estate away from its missing owner, the story behind the flamboyant Devanha House, the lost Dee Village, some of Ferryhills fabulous architectural origins, and the tale of the arctic explorer who retired to South Crown Street. And, the creepy legend which concerns a mysterious hole which opened up in what was the garden of the old Cowdray Club. We round off at Hygeias statue, Duthie Park, the memorial for Miss Elizabeth Crombie Duthie, founder of the park.Start: Dee Village / Old Hydro Electric Building flats - at bus stop across from New China takeawayEnd: Duthie ParkDuration: Approx 2hrs
You Might Also Like
Crathes Castle: Drawing with Light -- Introduction to LinoPrinting with Carine Eunson
Sun Oct. 06, 2019