BBC SSO - Hough Plays Rachmaninov

Toggle location map

Music Hall
Union Street
AB10 1QS

TCHIAKOVSKY Excerpts from Sleeping Beauty (c.20 mins) RACHMANINOV Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (c.26 mins) STRAVINSKY The Fairy’s Kiss (c.44 mins)

Sir Stephen Hough piano Ryan Wigglesworth conductor

“My heartfelt homage to Tchaikovsky’s wonderful talent”. Audiences in the 1920s were astonished when the modernist firebrand Stravinsky started adapting Tchaikovsky. In fact, Stravinsky adored Tchaikovsky’s music, and his ballet The Fairy’s Kiss puts Tchaikovsky’s music under a very modern – but utterly captivating – spell. But then, under the baton of our Chief Conductor Ryan Wigglesworth, there’s wonder in every note of this ravishing concert.

You’d expect no less, when the phenomenal pianist Stephen Hough works his very personal alchemy on Rachmaninov’s hugely-popular Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini. And to begin, there’s pure enchantment in a selection of magical excerpts from Tchaikovsky’s iconic ballet Sleeping Beauty.

Book all five BBC SSO 23/24 season concerts and get 20% off

Offer open until Sunday 29 September 2023 only. Offer only applies to full price tickets

  • Dates & Booking

    Apr. 19, 2024 7:30pm

    Book now
  • Ticket Info

    Standard - From £15.00 - £27.00

    Concession - From £6.00 - £13.50

You Might Also Like