Aberdeen Sinfonietta: Gala Concert

Toggle location map

Music Hall
Union Street
AB10 1QS

This event has now passed. Visit our what's on calendar to view our current events.

Strauss: Overture “Die Fledermaus” Haydn: Cello Concerto in C Dvořák: “Silent Woods” for cello and orchestra Elgar: Three Bavarian Dances Handel: Fireworks Music Garry Walker: Conductor Philip Higham: Cello In this gala concert we start in Austria, with two hugely contrasting works, Johann Strauss’s ever popular Fledermaus overture and Haydn’s very engaging first cello concerto. Dvořák’s beautiful and atmospheric Silent Woods was originally part of a piano composition “From the Bohemian Forest”. From Bohemia we cross to Bavaria for Elgar’s Three Dances, written after a memorable holiday in that country. Finally we arrive in London, with Handel’s spectacular Fireworks Music, first performed on the River Thames to celebrate the end of the War of the Austrian Succession. On this occasion it celebrates Aberdeen Sinfonietta’s return to the Music Hall!

You Might Also Like


Go to itinerary